Green Energy Breakfast Smoothie

So, I got a beautiful new pre-owned Jack LaLanne Power Juicer from a wonderful neighbor who brought it over to our house the other day to sell during our yard sale. I freaked out. I’ve been eyeing juicers (Vitamix & Jack LaLanne’s) for months now, but haven’t been able to justify splurging on one. Not quite sure why I’m telling you this because this green smoothie recipe actually doesn’t require a power juicer, it can be made using a blender (which I did). I guess I am telling you this to give you a little foreshadowing into the future of juice recipes on this blog, lol.

This is a really easy-to-make smoothie that gives you some of your essential morning fiber and protein. And it’s delicious. Even my fiancé (who was skeptical at first) chugged his down in a couple of seconds.

GREEN ENERGY BREAKFAST SMOOTHIE
adapted from skinnytaste.com

  • 1 small or medium ripe organic banana
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup plain soy milk
  • 1/2 cup plain fat-free Greek yogurt (my favorite is Fage)
  • 4 cubes of ice

1. Place all the ingredients into the blender, add ice, and blend until smooth.

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Green Energy Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Mambo – your smoothie sounds fab’ (have to remember the peanut butter addition. Yeh, Baby!) I got a vitamix a few months back – so gooooooooooooood!!! 🙂

    • The peanut butter totally makes it! Ooooo, you’ll have to share some recipes for the juicer with me – I am beyond excited to start using it!

      • 1st piece of advice – get thee Victoria Boutenko’s ‘Green Smoothie Revolution’. Great wee book written by a celebrated raw foodie. I use her recipes as a base and then adapt to suit my palate.

        I’m not s0 familiar with a Jack LaLanne – can you make soups in it as you can with a vitamix?

      • Awesome, I will check that out! Hm… I THINK you can make soups, but I’m not exactly positive. I’ll have to experiment and let you know. I don’t really have the manual since it was just given to me, and I only really intended on making juice from it. Thanks for the tip & the idea!

  2. That looks really good! I’m going to have to try that.

    Also, I was always in love with Jack LaLanne. He was always so passionate about juicing. I’d be up at 3 AM saying, “As soon as I finish this whole pizza I’m going to juice!”

Leave a Reply

