The easiest sweet & sour chicken recipe

For those of you that know this from my previous posts, I get SUPER excited to try crockpot recipes. This is only the 3rd or 4th thing I’ve made with my slow cooker. And it was a hit with my fiancé because it’s super delicious (the chicken becomes so tender and tasty), and a hit with me as well because of its taste, but also because of how quick and easy the recipe is.

Taken from 365 Days of Slow Cooking….here is the recipe:

SWEET & SOUR CHICKEN…crockpot style

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs, trimmed of fat
1.  Place chicken in bottom of slow cooker.
2.  Saute the onion in a teaspoon of oil until soft.
3. In a small bowl combine the ketchup, vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire and onion.  Pour over the chicken.

First time I've used ketchup in a recipe EVER. Glad to make use of the huge bottle my fiancé purchased.

Uncooked chicken with sauce poured on top.

4.  Cover and cook on LOW for 4-6 hours (I cooked mine for about 5 hrs).  Serve over hot cooked rice.

Really easy. Really good.

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “The easiest sweet & sour chicken recipe

  1. Bunny Maita says:

    Can’t wait to try!

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I don’t like sweet & sour chicken, hell I don’t like sweet & sour anything together, one of my personal food rules….but I have cooked it many times both as a chef and for dinner parties. This is a fast/easy recipe. Thank you “sweatlikemambo”.

  3. Yummy! And what gorgeous colors together.

    Love, love, love, my crock pot!!

    🙂

  4. eof737 says:

    Tasty looking dish! I’m finally catching up again on blog posts. Thanks for your patience! 🙂

  5. Lilly Sue says:

    I love quick and easy recipes! And this looks delicious! Always looking for more ways to use the crock pot 🙂

Leave a Reply

