30-45 Minute Quick Workout of the Day

I used to think if I didn’t have 1 hour or more, it wasn’t worth working out. This was years ago. I feel a lot more differently about this now, and since working in the fitness industry, I have seen first-hand that even just 30 minutes a day will give you that mental and physical boost we all strive for from our exercises routines. IT CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE. Even if I only have 20 minutes to devote to working out, I will always choose that 20 minutes over 0 minutes.

Here is what I did at the gym the other day when I didn’t have a lot of time, and it didn’t take much over 45 minutes. Emphasis on legs, back, and core. You can scale back the # of sets (but try to do a minimum of 2), and the # of reps depending on how much time you have. Enjoy!!

15 Minutes of CARDIO: Stair Stepper Machine set at 100 steps a minute (or whatever challenges you best)

I am a fan of the stair steppers that look like these

20 minutes of STRENGTH:

[Superset #1, repeat 3x]

  • 15 reps seated cable back rows, 40 lbs
  • 15 reps prone hamstring curl machine, 40 lbs

Seated Cable Back Rows

Prone Hamstring Curl Machine

[Superset #2, repeat 3x]

  • 10 reps of assisted pull-ups, set at your appropriate assist depending on your current weight & strength
  • 30 reps squats, no weights

Assisted Pull-Up Machine

10 minutes of CORE STRENGTH:

[Do all four exercises, repeat 2x]

  • plank with medicine ball touches, 20 with each hand
  • russian twists with 6 lb medicine ball, 20 twists on each side
  • supine scissors, 15 criss-crosses
  • v-ups with 6 lb medicine ball, 15 times

I hope the pictures helped you understand what machines I’m referring to. Please feel free to ask me any questions about various exercises and form, etc. But most importantly remember, it doesn’t matter how much time you have, just get out there and do what you can – your body will always thank you for it!

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “30-45 Minute Quick Workout of the Day

  1. Sheila Hurst says:

    Thank you – I definitely need the inspiration to get away from the computer and move every once in awhile!

    • You’re so welcome! It’s helpful reminding yourself that you can do something as easy as walking or stairs for 30 minutes…sometimes it’s so stressful thinking about “exercising” that it becomes a chore. Hope you had a great day and was able to get movin’! 😉

  2. Lilly Sue says:

    I have also found that there are many exercises that can be done at home when you only have that 20-30 minute time slot….because my biggest issue is getting to the gym! lol

    • Ah yes, good call, you’re TOTALLY right. I will post some of those next time, but lately I make it a mandatory thing to do 100 pushups/situps & 200 squats every day no matter what, just in case time escapes me, I know I’ve done SOMETHING for my muscles!

      • Lilly Sue says:

        Wow that is motivation!! 100 pushups I can’t quite do…situps yes and sqats, yikes! lol

      • Oh, I should clarify!!! I can’t do the 100 pushups all in a row, but I break up the sets however it works for me – usually 15 pushups, 20 sit-ups, and 60 squats (or something like that) then repeat without stopping until I’m finished 🙂

  3. Roy says:

    This is a great quick workout! It’s well balanced and has something for every part of the body. I tend to forget how great pushups and squats are, so thanks for the reminder about those. Even if there’s not time to get in a workout like this one, those are things anyone can easily do with no equipment required. Another thing I am getting into lately is planking – I place my forearms on the ground and raise my body up on my toes and hold my torso in a straight line for up to 60 seconds. Ever tried that? It really gives your core a great workout, again, with no equipment required.

    -Roy

    • Thanks for your thoughts Roy! Definitely LOVE the plank myself, I have many variations of the plank also – clock towers, shifting forward (onto your toes) and back, holding plank and lifting each leg up and down, etc. I totally agree that it’s important not to forget these awesome exercises one can do at home with no equipment – working out doesn’t have to be so complicated!

  4. […] Helpful Piece: 30-45 Minute Quick Workout of the Day (I need to post more workouts for you […]

Leave a Reply

