Nothing a little baked oatmeal treat won’t fix…

So…I’ve been really missing cooking up fun and exciting dishes this week because of a disaster I had on Monday morning. I came home from an early morning client to pour myself some coffee, and was itching to slice a piece off my Brioche Loaf #2, when I gave my thumb a flat-top. I didn’t know what happened until it happened. Luckily, the bleeding slowed eventually and it was clear that the wound wasn’t deep enough to require stitches. My fiancรฉ helped me clean it out and bandage it and it has been healing ever since, but hurting the top of your thumb isn’t conducive to working in the kitchen. The only good thing is that it also isn’t conducive to washing dishes ๐Ÿ˜‰

Of course I had to injure the thumb on the hand with my new bling:

Anyway, enough with the self pity. I mostly just wanted to share this so you guys would know that I’m not just being a lazy bum…

My blogger friend over atย Creative Noshing posted an awesome Baked Cranberry Oatmeal recipe a little while ago, and it seemed harmless enough for me to make. It turned out AMAZING. Go, go check out the recipe. It didn’t make very much though, so I will be making this again here shortly, but I’ll probably be quadrupling the recipe (and maybe adding a couple more ingredients, stay tuned). Yes, I’ll admit it, this portion size just isn’t enough to feed Mambo. But still, I had it this morning with my greek yogurt & agave and it made me so happy.

Thank you Creative Noshing! Turned out YUMMY!!

Tagged , , ,

12 thoughts on “Nothing a little baked oatmeal treat won’t fix…

  1. Zohreen says:

    Oh no about the thumb! I’m glad it didn’t require stitches tho and that you’re back to cooking!

  2. I’ve cut my fingers pretty good before, but it was a perfect excuse to show off your bling:) congrats by the way on the engagement. I am so glad you tried the recipe. Thanks for letting me know how it turned out for you. Can’t wait to see how you get creative with it and make it your own.

    • Those dang sharp knives… Thank you for the congrats! And THANK YOU for the recipe…it was really really yummy, and very simple which I appreciated, especially now. I have your other granola recipe bookmarked (the one with the puffed rice), so I will probably play with that one soon too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. My sympathies to your poor thumb! Great to hear you got out of the dishes though, lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Ouch! Cuts on fingers hurt so much and seem like they take forever to heal.

    But, I do give you the thumbs up on the baked oatmeal. Yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I once cut myself right underneath the nail, and it hurt so badly I assumed cutting my finger completely off would have hurt less.

    The granola looks delicious!

  6. eof737 says:

    Love anything with oatmeal. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

