Brioche! Brioche! Brioche!!!!!!

Is it right to be THIS EXCITED about making bread, successfully? YAHOO!!!!

So, I have never made bread before. Pumpkin bread, yes. Banana bread, yes. But REAL bread, the kind that requires yeast and takes time to rise and all that good stuff? No. Not until yesterday. This is why I was so freaking excited when they came out of the over beautiful & delicious…

Of course I had the itch to make brioche loaves after we returned from France. I could really get used to having bread at each meal the way they do. I know, I know, as a trainer, you’d probably expect me to be on a high protein diet with minimal carbohydrates, but I am also a long distance runner and I was also raised on good, delicious carbs like bread and pasta and cookies. Bread is not the devil. In fact, quite the opposite…

Before I get off track on this topic, let me post the amazing recipe and some pictures. I bought the Barefoot Contessa Paris Edition while in Paris (bad choice, I should’ve just bought it cheaper online but I was too excited), and this is the first recipe I tried. I’m still jumping for joy that it turned out, considering I didn’t have a water temperature gauge nor a mixer with a paddle attachment. This just proves to me that you don’t need all the fancy gadgets, although the fancy gadgets may save you some prep time 🙂

BRIOCHE LOAVES

recipe adapted from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris

  • 1/2 cup warm water (110-120 degrees; if you don’t have a gauge, just make sure it’s not too hot that you can’t dip your fingers into it)
  • 1 package dried yeast
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 6 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 4 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 lb (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 medium egg mixed with 1 tbsp low fat milk, for egg wash

1. Combine the water, yeast, and sugar in a medium/large mixing bowl. Mix with your hands and allow to stand for 5 minutes until the yeast and sugar dissolve.

BEFORE: when the warm water, yeast, and sugar are first combined

AFTER: 5 min of sitting, the mixture will smell yeasty and foam up a little

2. Add the eggs and beat on medium speed for 1 minute, until well mixed. With the mixer on low speed, add 2 cups of the flour and the salt and mix for 5 minutes.

3. Now the mixture starts getting too thick for the rinky dinky hand mixers, so you will have to switch to using your hang to knead the dough and to continue the mixing process. Add 2 more cups of flour and mix for 5 more minutes. Using your hands, break off chunks of the soft butter and mix for 2 minutes, until well blended. Sprinkle in the remaining 1/4 cup of flour and knead/mix enough so that the dough looks smooth throughout.

4. Set the dough into a medium/large buttered bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate overnight.

5. The next day, allow the dough to sit at room temperature for 1 hour. Grease two 8.5 x 4.5 x 2.5 inch loaf pans. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured board and cut in half. Pat each portion into a 6×8 inch rectangle, then roll up each rectangle into a cylindrical loaf. Place each loaf, seam side down, into a greased pan. Cover the pans with a damp towel and set aside to rise at room temperature until double in volume, 2-2.5 hours.

6. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. When the loaves have rises, burs the top of each with the egg wash and bake for 45 minutes. The tops should have a slightly hollow sound when tapped. Let the loaves cool. Makes 2. I keep one in the fridge while we eat the other, so it stays fresh!

I can’t wait to try some of the other recipes in this book!!!

Tagged , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Brioche! Brioche! Brioche!!!!!!

  1. Zohreen says:

    Fantastic! Ive never made bread before but will have to try this one day

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Bread baking is not for the faint of heart. never will a first time baker ever be successful. Bread baking takes experience and trial & error to get it right. No matter what you do, something will inevitably turn out wrong. BUT do NOT give up….keep at it and you will be successful. It take that centuries old adage…”practice makes a good loaf of fresh baked bread”. Thank you “sweatlikemambo”

  3. gigoid says:

    Although not a trainer, or in training anymore, I still love good bread, and brioche is one of the best…. my favorite way to have it is wrapped around a nice filet mignon roast, lined with a duxelle and spinach leaves (and my own addition to the classic recipe, a layer of smoked gouda cheese under the spinach, next to the dough…. yum, and beautiful when sliced), aka Beef Wellington…. but then, morning buns are pretty addictive with good French Roast coffee in the morning, too…. sigh, you definitely stimmed my memory buds with this one, especially the great picture of the loaves fresh out of the oven… nice…. good post… (btw, I have worked in restaurants off & on, mostly on, among other professions, since age 15, and I am a classically trained chef, with honors at graduation from the California Culinary Academy, where we made brioche pretty much daily in pastry kitchen classes….ah, good memories there, too…now I’m hungry….) 🙂 Thanks for this!

    • Oh YUM, I really really really like your spinach+gouda cheese idea. And I definitely have been enjoying my bread with my morning french roast too! Amazing that you graduated with honors from the California Culinary Academy, I feel like an imposter here since I just like to play in the kitchen under my own (admittedly sometimes faulty) instruction. You may inspire me now to actually take a legitimate cooking class some time…

      • gigoid says:

        Cooking school was fun… I’d already been cooking for years when I got the opportunity to go on someone else’s dime. As I said, fun, and like any school, you get out of it what you put in. But, it’s not the be-all & end-all of culinary skill or talent, and is not a guarantee of success in the field. So, you are no imposter; commercial kitchens are not the only place artful food is made; it’s not even the most likely place to find good food….. my favorite table in the world at which to eat will always be the one I grew up at, my mother’s, and she never cooked anything that wasn’t in Betty Crocker’s bible….and never cooked in a restaurant…. good food comes from the heart, not a book, or the head… so, don’t disparage the home cook…especially baking bread, an art all its own…. 🙂 Take the class, if you like, it’s always good to see how others cook, too…

  4. gigoid says:

    Oh, yes, forgot to add… many fancy kitchen devices are mostly handy while learning the proper procedures, and the nature of the foods in the recipe being used… once known, one may use them or not, whichever is more efficient… but can always make do without….

  5. Seriously awesome!!! Those brioche look like perfection!!! Yum!

  6. Robin says:

    SO very impressed with you Junsie!!! I wish I was there to have a piece warm out of the oven.

  7. Brioche is the queen of breads. I’m VERY impressed you attempted it, and it looks PERFECT! I may have to follow your lead…inspired!

    • Thank you!! It wasn’t TOO tough – if you have a paddle attachment on the mixer, I’d recommend using the original recipe, but if you’re up for getting down & dirty with your hands, my adapted version turns out some yummy results!

  8. Absolutely GORGEOUS!!! Good job! I am going to try to make this gluten free! 🙂

  9. this is so wonderful! My father always made the most wonderful breads! Maybe I’ll give it a try too. Thanks for viewing and liking a recent post of mine. I’ll follow you from here! incidentallearner

  10. […] from an early morning client to pour myself some coffee, and was itching to slice a piece off my Brioche Loaf #2, when I gave my thumb a flat-top. I didn’t know what happened until it happened. […]

Leave a Reply

