Wow. Red Velvet Brownie Bites with Cream Cheese Frosting. Wow.

ALERT: This recipe is NOT healthy for you. 

I know most of what I like to eat is healthy – lots of fish, greens, veggies, fruits, grains, etc. That tends to be the bulk of recipes I cook. I do occasionally bake, but usually it’s nothing more than just some chocolate chip cookies, or maybe an oatmeal cookie. Nothing too exciting. Well, yesterday, I gave my boyfriend the choice of what he wanted for dessert, and mind you, he has an extremely well-developed chocolate specific sweet tooth. Naturally, he asked for some really rich desserts, and this was the recipe that won.

I highly recommend it, but please, only bake it after you’ve had a great workout that day AND plan on doing another one tomorrow. Don’t eat this on your rest day, otherwise, you might not be too happy with yourself 🙂 Love you guys! And enjoy!!

RED VELVET BROWNIE BITES with cream cheese frosting

adapted from the much more talented than I, Brenda from A Farmgirl’s Dabbles (hers are a lot prettier too, but hey, I’m working on it!)

Hahaha, can you tell this pic was taken after we already devoured our first piece?  My boyfriend was getting anxious with me for wanting to take pictures when he wanted to eat!

Red Velvet Brownies:

  • Canola oil, for greasing the pan
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, diced
  • 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I used Ghirardelli)
  • 1.5 cups granulated white sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 fl oz liquid red food coloring
  • 1 cup all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 8 ounces 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cup sifted powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 325°. Lightly wipe an 8×8 aluminum pan with canola oil. Be sure to cover the sides as well as the bottom. Stir butter and chocolate in a heavy large saucepan over very low heat until chocolate is melted and mixture is smooth. Remove from heat.

2. Whisk in sugar, then eggs, 1 at a time. Stir in vanilla, salt, and food coloring. Sift flour and baking powder over mixture and stir to blend well.

3. Transfer batter to the prepared pan. Bake the brownies until puffed and dry-looking, for about 30 minutes. Test toothpick should come out with some moist batter attached, but not too much. All the brownies to cool in the pan completely on a rack.

4. Meanwhile, prepare the frosting by first beating together the cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy (remember that these two ingredients MUST be at room temperature). Add vanilla and mix a bit to incorporate. Then add the sifted powdered sugar and beat to combine. Once brownies are completely cool, spread this frosting evenly across the top and cut into desired size bites!

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Wow. Red Velvet Brownie Bites with Cream Cheese Frosting. Wow.

  1. Zohreen says:

    HAahhaha! Love the part about the bf getting anxious! Rishi would too! (I’m also completely crazy and take 50 pictures before I like one, that’s why he bought me the food photo booth)

    • LOL seriously, he was starting to twitch he was getting so anxious! And I’m not even taking serious pictures – just using the iPhone!! I can totally picture Rishi and you going bonkers over taking a billion and not being happy with any. Too funny. BTW, you are welcome to bring your food photo booth over anytime so we can play with it!! Sounds so awesome.

  2. rumpydog says:

    mmmm….. I’m on chocolate overload after the blogs I’ve read today. I saw a recipe for mint brownies that looked good, then I come and see this one and it looks awesome as well. Might have to break down and make some!

  3. Sheila says:

    Wow is right! Healthy or not, I’m going to have to try this – thank you!

  4. I think that’s about a 6-mile-run brownie right there! Looks deliciously decadent.

  5. Looking seriously yum right there! I’m a red velvet cake lover, definitely! From the look of the red, to the cream cheese frosting, even the name makes me love them even more!!!

  6. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:

    SWEATLIKEMAMBO did it once again….calories be damned..any and everybody needs a guilty pleasure outside of the bedroom…this is mine. Anything Red Velvet, be it cake or pancakes, is my guilty pleasure…outside the bedroom!! Stop by the blog: “SWEATLIKEMAMBO” and when you bake this one….let me know how they turn out. Thank you SWEATLIKEMAMBO.

  7. This looks beyond delicious!

  8. eof737 says:

    That looks decidedly delicious. 😉

Leave a Reply

