Scallops, Butternut Squash Pasta Salad, and Nutmeg Spice Muffins

Random? Yes, indeed.

I was having a not-so-great day, and I didn’t feel like working out. I know, it’s crazy. Me. No running, no yoga, no lifting, nothing. It happens to all of us every now and then. The ONLY thing I could think to do that would calm my brain down was to cook. And cook a lot of different things at the same time. I don’t think I’ve ever multitasked so well in the kitchen (not surprised that I did though since I multitask at EVERYTHING and share this sentiment with David Kanigan), but I certainly did this time. And here was the result:

SEARED SCALLOP SALAD WITH ALMOND-CUCUMBER DRESSING

adapted from “Small Plates: Appetizers as Meals” by Marguerite Marceau Henderson (awesome book, by the way, I’ve made many things from it and it has served me well! Thanks Mom! :-))

Salad Ingredients

  • 1 lb scallops, patted dry
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp dried tarragon (depending on your taste for it, I don’t prefer a lot)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 4 cups spring mix

Almond-Cucumber Dressing

  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 – 1/4 tsp dried tarragon (again, can also be to taste)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cucumber, thinly sliced
  • Juice and zest of 1 lemon

1. In a bowl, combine scallops, oil, parsley, tarragon, salt, and pepper. Be sure to drudge all scallops well in the mixture. Heat a grill. Add the scallops and grill for 4-6 minutes per side.

2. Remove scallops to a platter lined with spring mix. In the meantime, whisk together lemon zest & juice, oil, tarragon, salt, and pepper. Stir in almonds and cucumber. Pour over scallops, and reserve a little for individual toppings. (I found this made a lot of dressing, so I saved quite a bit and have been using it as a regular salad dressing this past week. Very delicious with our without the scallops!)

BUTTERNUT SQUASH PASTA SALAD

adapted from Budget Bytes

  • 1 butternut squash (about 3 lbs), peeled & diced into small cubes
  • 4 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1/4 cup fresh sage, chopped
  • 1 lb pasta, medium shells
  • 1/2 bunch fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 3/4 cup shredded parmesan
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the squash cubes, sage, and a generous amount of salt & pepper. Saute until tender, about 15 minutes (or to preferred consistency). Meanwhile, cook the pasta until al dente (7-10 min) in a pot of salted water. Drain the pasta.

2. Once the squash is tender and the pasta is drained, add the pasta, cranberries, and parsley to the skillet containing the squash cubes. Set to low heat so everything stays warm. Stir to combine. Finally, drizzle the last 2 tbsp of olive oil over everything, add salt and pepper to taste, and stir in the parmesan. Serve warm! (Oh, and makes a TON, so this would be a great one for potlucks, etc.)

Nutmeg Spice Breakfast Muffins

adapted from The Faux Martha

These muffins were delicious. I took the recipe from The Faux Martha (she’s kind of awesome at this sort of thing), but she calls them “cupcakes” on her site. I would prefer to actually call them “muffins” because the consistency is thicker and much more bread-like than the consistency of typical cupcakes (perhaps because I used cornstarch and not potato starch..?). She also topped them with frosting, which I opted out of because frankly, I REALLY suck at making frosting, and also because when eating them like muffins, they are perfect without the frosting. I particularly enjoyed them with some french press coffee for breakfast! Ok, blah blah blah, here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup superfine sugar (you can throw the sugar in the food processor to make it “superfine”)
  • 1 cup all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp allspice, depends on how much you like spice 🙂
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 6 tbsp butter, melted and at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup half and half, at room temperature
  • 1 tbsp spiced rum (I used Sailor Jerry’s, it’s our favorite for drinks), at room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, at room temperature
  • 2 whole eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 egg yolk, at room temperature

1. Preheat oven to 325°. Line a cupcake pan with 12 liners. Set aside. Combine sugar, flour, cornstarch, salt, nutmeg, allspice, and baking soda in a large bowl. Whisk to combine.

2. Combine butter, half and half, rum, vanilla, eggs, and egg yolk in a container with a tight fitting lid (I used a mason jar) and shake well to combine. Make sure all ingredients are room temperature or separation will occur.


4. Lightly whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients until well combined. Evenly fill cupcake liners about 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until tops are golden and tooth pick inserted comes out clean. Eat for dessert, but most importantly, eat for breakfast!! Yum.

Tagged , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Scallops, Butternut Squash Pasta Salad, and Nutmeg Spice Muffins

  1. Zohreen says:

    scallops! omg amazing! i’m having another one of those “i’m so hungry i could eat my hand moments” — this probably wasn’t the best email to open!

  2. nenskei says:

    Ugh! delicious 🙂

  3. Count me in for the seared scallop salad, please….

  4. Yum they both look delicious! I love scallops, they are one of my favorite things to order when we go out to eat…besides a big hunk of bloody meat. Ha!

    I’ve been doing a new exercise program and I was too sore to work out yesterday! Seriously, SO sore! Anyway, I walked the dogs for 65 minutes in 6 inches of snow in a farmer’s field…figured that was good enough. Had vegetables and chicken sausage for dinner. Would have rather had your scallops!

    • I actually don’t order scallops often just because I kind of forget about them, but MAN were they good in this recipe! Lol about the workout – what’s the new exercise program your on? Now you have me curious. It’s always good to feel new soreness after a good workout, and I’d say walking the dogs for over an hour in 6 inches of snow is DEFINITELY “good enough”!! 🙂

      • Don’t laugh, but I ordered the Brazillian Butt DVD’s. LOL! I’ve put on 15 pounds in the last two years…hormones are changing and then the food blog on top of it, just not a good combo.

        So I’m looking to rid myself of those extra 15 and tighten up a bit. Holy. Cow. Those DVD’s really will kick your butt, I am shocked. He guarantees a higher butt, slimmer waist, and tighter, slimmer thighs. I’m ending week 1 and have lost 4 pounds. I’m mixing the cardio part of it up a bit with different aerobics and the eliptical for the days I’m not coordinated enough to do the Brazillian dance moves. 😉 Then of course, walking the dogs every day on top of the exercise and for the past several days we’ve had snow.

        I’m not a young chick anymore (43) and have realized when I’m super sore (like so sore it hurts to sit and pee!! LOL) and my body says rest…I listen.

        Today is aerobics (dance and dogs) and abs and arms. Think I can handle that!

        Have a great day! 🙂

      • I’m not laughing, I’m smiling cause that’s awesome! Whatever works for you, and just looked at the website – it looks like a really good combo of fun & good workout/strength training. Obviously it works if you lost 4 lbs at the end of week one, YOU ROCK!!! Keep it up! I also really like how you said “…have realized when I’m super sore…and my body says rest…I listen.” I wish more people listened to their bodies like this. Your results come during the rest periods, so some people never see maximum results because they don’t rest enough (i.e. overtraining). Glad I read this comment in the morning because you’ve inspired my workout today!

  5. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.com and commented:

    I am a foodie since retiring from professional cooking…and the blog “sweatlikemambo” is one of my top five blogs on food. This recipe is smack yo mama delicious.

  6. Somehow I missed the salad the first time I looked at this…I’ll tack that one up to my dog trying lick my ear off while I was checking blogs. I’ve never mixed dried fruit and squash with pasta, looks wonderful! 🙂

    • Haha, it was a random combo too, so it probably didn’t make sense to your eyes at first! I’ve never done that mixture either, but it works, and makes great (and lots) of leftovers!

  7. fivereflections says:

    a delicious post

    David in Maine USA

  8. Addison says:

    These all look delicious! I may have to make the Butternut Squash Pasta Salad this weekend.

Leave a Reply

