Ginger and Cilantro Tilapia

I’ve never owned a food processor before, and I FINALLY bought one the other day from Steamy Kitchen (if you’ve never been here, check it out!). It’s just a small 3.5 cup Cuisinart, but it worked beautifully for our meal last night!! I made some delicious ginger & cilantro tilapia with red potatoes and some lightly fried rice.

GINGER & CILANTRO TILAPIA

adapted from theKitchn

  • 4 small tilapia filets (about 3/4 lb)
  • 1 small jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro

1. Pre-heat the oven to 475ºF. Season the tilapia lightly with sea salt and pepper, and place into a baking dish. Set aside.

2. Put pepper, garlic, and ginger in a small food processor with the soy sauce, white wine, sesame oil, and cilantro. “Chop” until well-blended. Pour the sauce over the fish, rubbing it in a little. Bake for 8 minutes. YUM.

yay! shiny new food processor!

3. Serve with red potatoes, lightly fried rice, and chardonnay…see below.

GINGER & CILANTRO RED POTATOES

  • 4 small red potatoes, cut into 1 inch squares
  • 1 large garlic clove, pressed
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1/8 cup cilantro, chopped
  • Sea salt to taste

1. Just cover potatoes with salted water, and bring to boil. Add in pressed garlic, ginger, onions, and cilantro. Reduce to medium heat and cover for about 10 minutes (or until potatoes are at a texture you prefer!). Drain any excess water.

the fresh cilantro turns the mixture a little green while cooking! ha! 

LIGHTLY FRIED RICE

  • 1 cup white rice, cooked (I had leftovers from the night before that I’d put in the fridge)
  • 1 tbsp garlic oil
  • 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • Sea salt and pepper, to taste

1. Heat garlic oil over a low-medium heat, and stir in already cooked white rice. Stir in egg and onions, adding a little salt and pepper. Continue to stir for about 7-8 minutes.

And Sterling 2010 Chardonnay…


Tagged , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Ginger and Cilantro Tilapia

  1. Love the new kitchen bling!!! I seriously could not live without my food processor, one things for sure, we’d be eating much later if I didn’t have one lol. Love the look of that fish too, I’ve never heard of Tilapia before?

    • I don’t know why it took me so long to get one…it really is a time saver and there’s no way I could’ve gotten the sauce so smooth without it. Tilapia is delicious!! It’s a thin white fish with a light taste. I’m down in Southern California, so maybe it’s more abundant here…? Not sure, but it is in the grocery stores year-round…

  2. bilafond says:

    Will try this. Looks good. Like the processor buttons – Chop Grind

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    STOP it please….you’re killin me with these recipes….if I pay you very well, could you stop by my house and leave this one in the oven?

    • Haha, I love to tease!! Done deal (where do you live?) 🙂

      • Jueseppi B. says:

        Too far away for this to be found in my oven when I get back there…but thanks for not tellin me no straight away. I would switch catfish for the Tilapia. I am a catfish kind of guy. I think I could eat cilantro on everything. Good recipe, thank you for posting.

      • Really, catfish? I have never cooked up catfish before – anything you would recommend in particular? And yes, I love cilantro too…mmmm. And thank YOU for reading!

  4. Zohreen says:

    I’m so hungry after reading this!! Especially like the first picture – did you take that with your iPhone too? If you did, curious how you did it.

    • Thanks Zo! Yes – I used the Camera+ App to take it and to edit it. I first used the “clarity” filter, then I added the “miniaturize” effect to it, and reduced the intensity a bunch. That’s why it’s just a tad bit blurred on the top and bottom.

  5. Razel Rull-Navarro says:

    Yummmmy! Our family love tilapia and this sounds/looks like a very good recipe to try. Printing this one now and will let you know how it turned out 🙂

    • Razel Rull-Navarro says:

      Oh wait…there is no email button …lol … guess I have to copy and paste text 🙂

      • It’s so good – let me know how yours turns out. And there IS an email button, it’s the 4th button to the right of “Share This:”…let me know if you can or can’t see it because it shows up on my screen! Thanks!

      • Razel Rull-Navarro says:

        Yup…will let you know. And I meant no print button…what was I thinking? 😀 …. I copied the recipe already. Will just have to look for tilapia fillets, which are not readily available in most Sydney stores…tilapias come in whole fish. Im sure I can order fillets 🙂

      • Ahh, gotcha! Yeah, tilapia fillets are at every grocery store around here, I can always count on them!! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

