Updated: INSPIRING Life of Hana Hwang – she has NOT passed away!

I posted this blog post yesterday, and sadly, believed the numerous articles & blogs online that stated Hana Hwang had passed away. THIS IS NOT TRUE. Apparently that was a rumor started on one of the tumblr blogs that caught on fire, and I am sad and disappointed that I fell into it. My deepest, most sincerest apologies for perpetuating this terrible rumor – it is a good lesson to learn since I have only recently started blogging. I will make certain to only post on things that have been legitimately confirmed. Again, I am deeply sorry to Hana Hwang and her family. I still am leaving the bulk of this post though because I am inspired by the life force and happiness that Hana expresses in this video, inspired by Selena Gomez for taking the time to make a dream come true, and hope that it will inspire others as well:

On December 13, 2011, the young actress/singer Selena Gomez paid a surprise visit to Hana Hwang at the Children’s Hospital in Los Angeles. Hana is 13 years old and suffers from the chronic disease progeria – a rare & fatal genetic condition that causes the appearance of accelerated aging in children. [All children living with progeria will eventually die from arteriosclerosis, which is a heart disease that might normally affect an older adult at the ages of 60 years and up. Regardless of this physical accelerated aging, the intellect of these children remains unaffected and they continue to learn, think, express curiosity just as any other kid their age would do.] Hana’s tutor had nominated Hana & Hana’s family to be recipients of the KISSMAS Giving Campaign from our local radio station 102.7 Kiss FM. Ryan Seacrest discovered that Hana was a “Selenator” (i.e. HUGE Selena Gomez fan) and talked to the lovely Miss Gomez, who showed up by Hana’s bedside on Dec. 13th.

It’s an awesome story about the good the celebrities can do with their fame, and I have so much respect for Selena Gomez and her family for taking the time out to do a great deed. This is the ‘Thank You’ video she created for Selena shortly after their visit together:

Tagged , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Updated: INSPIRING Life of Hana Hwang – she has NOT passed away!

  1. What a beautiful, happy soul. It’s so wonderful she had that wish fulfilled. My heart goes out to her family.

    • Totally agree with you – she brings a huge smile to my face. I feel happy and inspired after watching this. Definitely sending lots of thoughts, love, and light to her family. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. Raina says:

    Wow, God Bless. Rest in Peace Hana, you are an angel. You are a ray of light! Condolences to the Hwang family. And its amazing that Selena was able to meet this wonderful girl.

  3. Thanks for sharing this story. Selena is beautiful inside and out. Truly euphoric when you made someone smile, and Selena did it with this little angel Hana. God bless her soul ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You’re welcome! I have to admit I didn’t know much about Selena Gomez before this, but I am a huge fan of hers now! It really IS so amazing to make someone’s heart happy – I agree with you that Selena achieved this with Hana and that she is a beautiful person inside and out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Everyone, I have updated this story – Hana Hwang is indeed still alive. My deepest apologies for falling for the rumors that spread like wildfire online. Please read the updated post and spread the word.

  5. Claudia Mahoney says:

    Hanna Hwang is my HERO’! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. eof737 says:

    Thank you for sharing this. I read it elsewhere on the internet… Blessings to Hana!

  7. […] Controversial Piece: INSPIRING Life of Hana Hwangย (Controversial because when I first posted it, I was under the impression that she’d passed […]

Leave a Reply

