Lemon & Thyme Chicken

Last night I made Lemon & Thyme Chicken via Amy at My Name Is Snickerdoodle. I dare say this was the first time (hehe) ever, I’ve cooked with fresh thyme! And it was delicious! Here is my adaptation – I only have slight variations from the original due to wanting to use skinless and boneless chicken breasts. I also used the other half of the acorn squash from the halibut meal I made earlier this week. Enjoy! This recipe is super simple but tasty.

 

LEMON & THYME CHICKEN (w/acorn squash and brown wild rice)

  • 2 tbsp lemon zest (This makes the chicken VERY lemony, so reduce if you do not want an overpowering lemon taste. I like it lemony 🙂
  • 1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2-3 tbsp melted unsalted butter
  • Thinly sliced lemons, for garnish (I did this, but it is not necessary!)
  • 1/2 acorn squash, sliced into 1 inch half moons
  • Olive Oil, Jane’s Krazy Original Mixed-Up Salt
  • 1 package Uncle Ben’s Brown Wild Rice (I started using this because of my boyfriend. It’s good and SO quick!)

1.  Preheat over to 425˚ F. Stir the lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, thyme, olive oil, salt and pepper in a small bowl. Place the chicken breasts in a ziploc freezer bag, and pour the marinade all over the chicken so that it is evenly distributed. Shake the bag,  and press out excess air and sealing once more. Place bag in a large bowl (to prevent any dripping) and refrigerate to let marinate for at least 2 hours (I let it sit for about 7 hours).

2. Remove the chicken breasts from the marinade and transfer to a baking dish, reserving the leftover marinade. Pour the melted butter over the tops of each piece. Place acorn squash on another baking dish, drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with Jane’s Krazy (this was introduced to me by one of my boyfriend’s sisters and I use it frequently for my baked vegetables!)


3. Put both pans in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. Remove the pan with acorn squash. Pour the remaining marinade over the chicken breasts in the baking dish and bake for another 35 minutes until chicken is browning and fully cooked. Remove chicken from oven and allow it to cool for 5 minutes while you throw the acorn squash in the over to warm, and the rice in the microwave. Plate, serve, and EAT!

Thank you, Amy/Snickerdoodle!

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lemon & Thyme Chicken

  1. Looks great nice picture!

  2. Amy W. says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I am definitely going to have to try out your squash!

    • Thank you for the recipe – I love the simplicity! Acorn squash is the best because it’s so sweet, and after it comes out from the oven it has the texture of home fries…yummm.

Leave a Reply

