Yoga & One Pot Meal by Equinox

When I signed on to YouTube to check out the video of the very awesome Briohny Smyth, I stumbled across a slew of videos that Equinox posts. I know they’re an awesome gym/club/spa, but I had no idea they were so involved in the online world! In this post, I mainly want to focus on the dinner I made last night, but I also want to post the Yoga By Equinox video for you to enjoy. It’s truly grace & beauty at its finest.

(note: this video has been under a lot of scrutiny…unwarranted in my opinion, but read about it here if the topic interests you)

After watching this video, I noticed another video on the sidebar – A Healthy, One-Pot Meal. It is The Meatball Shop’s Daniel Holzman demonstrating how to cook a delicious meal of red snapper, leeks, acorn squash, and yukon gold potatoes. Holy smokes. So gourmet, and so easy!

My adaptation here:

HALIBUT WITH LEEKS, ACORN SQUASH, AND POTATOES

2 medium sized pieces of halibut

1 large leek, very coarsely chopped and washed thoroughly

1/2 an acorn squash, cut into half inch half moons

2 yukon gold potatoes, cut in half and sliced into small half moons

1/2 cup of white wine (I used a viognier)

1/2 lemon juice

1/3 cup of coarsely chopped parsely

1/4 tbsp unsalted butter

EVOO, Sea Salt to taste

1.  Pour olive oil into a large pan and setting it up on a medium flame, lay the acorn squash into the pan so that all the surface area of one side is on the pan. Brown one side of the acorn squash, approximately 4 minutes. Remove squash and sprinkle a bit of sea salt on top. Set aside.

2.  Using the same pan (if needed, add just a tad more olive oil), fill with leeks and cook gently. Reduce flame or add water to the pan if the leeks begin to sizzle and turn brown (there should be no color here). After 2-3 minutes, spread out the potatoes on top of the leeks, and pour the white wine on top.

3. Finally, lay the acorn squash brown side up on top of the potatoes. Allow butter to melt on top of the acorn squash, and spread it around a bit. Finally, generously salt both sides of the halibut, and place on top of the squash. Pour the lemon juice all over the top of the halibut, sprinkle the parsley around, and close the lid. Steam this one pot meal until all the white wine/lemon juice/juice from fish is almost all evaporated. Take the steaming pan to the table and serve!

 

***I was originally going to cook red snapper like Daniel Holzman calls for in the video, but they did not have it at the market. When I went on my phone to search for similar fish to use in the recipe, I discovered that red snapper is labeled as the “Eco-Worst Choice” by the EDF due to the drastic decline in red snapper from overfishing. Additionally, there are fairly high mercury levels in red snapper, which makes it an even more debatable choice. If you want some more information, check out the Complete List of Seafood Eco-Ratings and this Red Snapper Alternative article. Regardless, the halibut was an excellent choice and I wouldn’t have wanted to cook it any other way!***

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Yoga & One Pot Meal by Equinox

  1. […] use skinless and boneless chicken breasts. I also used the other half of the acorn squash from the halibut meal I made earlier this week. Enjoy! This recipe is super simple but […]

  2. […] that super awesome Briohny Smith going through a beautiful yoga sequence. Check out the post HERE if you haven’t yet seen that video! (And yes, like I briefly mention in the post, many people […]

  3. […] Pride-worthy Piece: Yoga & One Pot Meal (Only because that halibut meal is one of my most favorites EVER!) My 7 […]

Leave a Reply

