Capellini with tomatoes, basil & fresh mozzarella

I got this Williams-Sonoma recipe book called Wine & Food…a new look at flavor by Joshua Wesson from my little sister for my birthday (I think?) and I love it. The book is categorized by wine varietals so that you can choose your wine, then choose your recipe that would be best suited for that wine. Very fun.

A couple of nights ago I made a capellini with tomatoes, basil & fresh mozzarella that is supposed to be paired with a “juicy red” like and Australian Grenache, or an Italian Dolcetto. Normally I would’ve paired it with the italian option, but since my boyfriend was on the tail-end of a bad flu, I opted for a pomegranate Italian soda instead, and it was a perfect non-alcoholic match. I also served it with some garlic french bread. Another success!

Here’s my version of what I did with the recipe (of course I altered a couple of things here and there), but ultimately taken from Wine & Food:

  • 5 large, ripe tomatoes (your choice) – peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 3-5 cloves pressed garlic
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tbsp freeze-dried chives
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 3/4 lb dried capellini
  • 1/2 cup finely diced fresh mozzarella
  • Shredded or grated parmesan for the table

1. In a frying pan large enough to hold the cooked pasta and sauce, combine the tomatoes, garlic, oil, basil, parsley, chives, 1 teaspoon salt, and pepper. Let stand at room temperature while you cook the pasta.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Cook capellini until al dente, but just before the pasta is ready, bring the tomato mixture to medium heat and allow it to simmer for a minute. When the pasta is ready, drain and add it to the pan with the simmering sauce. Add the mozzarella and toss to combine. Makes about 4 servings.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

