Rainy Day in LA

It was rainy today. Which I LOVE. There is nothing better than waking up to the sound of the pitter patter, then putting a pot of coffee on, getting into some comfy workout clothes, and going outside. LOVE IT. My first client today was out in Silverlake, so we had a good time running a couple rounds of neighborhood stairs in a light drizzle, then heading under the garage port cover to do some strength circuits. Afterwards, I ran around the reservoir myself. Again, another HIGHLY recommended workout for those that live in the area. From my client’s house it is about a 2.7 mile run, so I’m estimating that around the reservoir itself is about a 2.25 mile run (give or take). There is a lovely dirt path around the reservoir to stay on, and lots of scenery as you pass by the water, a park, a preschool, a dog park, and numerous Silverlake-folk out for the day. Then, go to Lamill’s afterwards for a scrumptious omelet and Masala Chai Tea Latte (what I recommend). Here’s a pic of this morning in Silverlake:

This evening I was feeling lazy, so made a very EASY healthy dinner.

CHICKEN BREASTS WITH VEGGIE AND QUINOA

Frozen Chicken Breast Tenders from Trader Joe’s

Frozen Organic Vegetable Foursome from Trader Joe’s

Organic Quinoa from Trader Joe’s

EVOO, Balsamic Vinegar, Stubb’s Chicken Marinade

  1. Thaw frozen chicken breasts. I like to put them in a freezer bag, then stick the bag in a bowl of hot water.
  2. When breasts are partially thawed, add a generous amount of Stubb’s Chicken Marinade and let sit for at least an hour. (The longer the better!) Meanwhile, cook quinoa in the rice cooker (a cup will take approximately 20 minutes). In a small saucepan, add water, EVOO, and balsamic vinegar to the frozen veggies. Bring to boil, then reduce to medium/low and let sit until all the liquid has been soaked into the vegetables.
  3. Cook the chicken breasts on a George Foreman (or any other grill!) – be sure to pour all the marinade on top of the breasts before grilling 🙂 Cook for at least 5 minutes.

I particularly love Stubb’s brand of chicken marinade (among other Stubb’s products!!!)

For dessert, luckily recently on of my clients gave me a bar of chocolate made by her very talented chocolatier friend Katrina Markoff. Vosges Haut-Chocolat as they call it, is super-duper fancy, but equally super-duper delicious. My boyfriend and I both LOVED this one.

A HAUT CHOCOLATE DESSERT: VOSGES SMOKE & STOUT CARAMEL BAR

LOVED this so much.

The dark chocolate flavor is subtle (I’m not the biggest dark chocolate fan) and the caramel/ale center is so pleasing on the palate. Even though more expensive than other chocolates, I would definitely buy some as a great gift for family and friends.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Rainy Day in LA

  1. […] know I’ve written about Silverlake already, but I honestly have a thing for the place. I know it is known for its “hipsters” and […]

Leave a Reply

