Food, Stairs, and More Food…

Today was a very foodie kind of day. This morning I met a friend for breakfast at La Petite Crepêrie – I’d never been there before, and it was DELICIOUS. There are a lot of hidden gems in the Mar Vista area. We both wanted something proper as well as something sweet, so we decided to split. We got the Saucisse et Oeuf (Brittan Sausage, Gruyère and Egg Sunny Side up) & the Citron (Lemon, Butter, Sugar). The sausage & gruyère were very satiating, while the citron was THE best sweet crepe I’ve ever had. It sounds simple with just 3 ingredients, but if you like a good lemon dessert (and I certainly do – my favorite pie in the world is the lemon cream cheese from Marie Callendar’s), you are in for a treat! I failed to take pictures this morning, but here is one taken of the outside of this lovely place…highly recommended both by me and my friend:

photo by: Mar Vista Mom

After a few more clients, I hit the Santa Monica Stairs. I have not run the stairs in months, and have recently been itching to get back into it. It is an incredible workout you can do 1) for FREE, 2) ANY time of day, and 3) in a short amount of time. The stairs will whoop your butt. I usually run up, and walk/jog/hobble down. I finished 10 up & downs with some jogging in between in about 40 minutes. A good place to start is 3 reps, and depending on your fitness level you can either walk them up and down, or try to run up and down. Trust me, you will still get a GREAT workout walking them. They are located on Adelaide, off of 4th St., and you can usually park on 4th. If not, there is plenty of parking on the streets just south of San Vicente, and what you can do is jog/warmup to the top of the stairs (what I recommend). There are also 2 sets of stairs. The set closer to 4th St. is windy and uneven, whereas the second set has much better footing and spacing. Obviously, it’s up to you! Message me if you need specific details on how to get there or what to do! Another pic that I failed to take:

photo by: Kelsey Wyatt

Finally, the last meal of the day!! I wanted to make a good Italian pasta dish (I am only a quarter Italian, but I eat & cook as though I’m full blooded 🙂 ) so I decided to whip up some gnocchi with homemade sauce, and a salad. I concocted a new homemade sauce that was absolutely delicious. I will list my ingredients, but I never measure my ingredients, so I will tell you approximately rather than exactly. Haha.

GNOCCHI & HOMEMADE SAUCE

*2  package (16oz each) imported Potato Gnocchi

1- 28 ounce can of tomato puree with crushed tomatoes

1/4-1/2 cup fresh cut basil

1 small chopped sweet onion

6-8 cloves garlic, minced

**1-2 roma tomatoes, chopped

8 ounces of LIGHT brie cheese (usually this is half of a pinwheel/cut), cubed (small cubes)

EVOO, Garlic Powder, Sea Salt, Ground Black Pepper, Italian Seasoning (to taste! your preference!)

[*I only used 1 package today, but quickly realized I had way too much sauce in comparison. I added in mini bowtie noodles since I didn’t have another package of gnocchi, and it was a good mix.

**The roma tomatoes at the grocery store do not appear to be in season, so I used standard vine-ripened tomatoes & they worked well]

  1. Boil salted pot of water. Add in gnocchi. When gnocchi float up to the top of the pot, strain and set aside.
  2. Slightly sauté chopped onions in a large saucepan on medium heat. After a couple of minutes, add the entire 28 ounce can of tomato puree. Mix in basil, minced garlic, garlic powder, sea salt, ground black pepper, and Italian seasonings. Mix in chopped tomatoes, and cubed brie. Continuously stir until cheese is completely blended. Season freely, to taste.
  3. Mix gnocchi with the sauce on low heat. Keep warm until ready to consume!
SIMPLE HERB SALAD WITH POMEGRANATE BALSAMIC VINEGARETTE
Package of Fresh Herb Salad
1-2 Chopped Tomatoes
Sliced Almonds
Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Sea Salt & Pepper
Grated Parmesan Cheese
YUM!!!!!

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Food, Stairs, and More Food…

  1. […] For dessert, we ordered the GOURMANDE (melted butter topped with lemon & sugar), and although light and tasty, it was nothing compared to the same one we’d ordered a week or so ago at La Petite Crêperie… […]

  2. Wow! Your descriptions are delicious! They sound amazing and I know (by the look of those stairs) you worked hard for that meal! I’m really inspired by your motivation and achieving the work/life/food balance! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Aw, thank you so much! At first I started this blog to document food and workouts, but it’s quickly becoming a forum for EVERYTHING I find cool or important. It’s so much fun! And I am LOVING your food selections as well…I’m certain that I will need to recreate some of your recipe ideas in my kitchen ASAP!!

Leave a Reply

